Solid: The Lincoln Lawyer (Spoiler Free)

Prior to now I was never really into Matthew McConaughay in any way, shape or form – and in my defense the 41-year-old has been a regular feature in off-kilter romantic comedies such as Failure To Launch, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days and The Wedding Planner…Ick.

However in crime drama movie The Lincoln Lawyer based on the book of the same name, McConaughay really comes into his own and solely carries this film on his back. Why the man has not been doing films like this for years is beyond me.

Supported by a solid cast including William H. Macy, Marisa Tomei, Josh Lucas and Michael Pena – who stole most of the scenes he was in – McConaughay plays the role of hustling LA based criminal defence lawyer Mickey Haller who has made a career of defending small time criminals until he meets new client cocky playboy Louis Roulet, (played by Ryan Phillippe) who is accused of assaulting a prostitute. As the case unravels it seems there is much more to this man than meets the eye…

I have read some derogatory comments about Phillippe’s general acting in the film and although I don’t fully agree with them – when watching the movie I found myself unconsciously coming up with actors in my head that I thought could have done a better job. That can’t be a good thing. Phillippe was more than capable here however I have seen Cruel Intentions (1999) and some of his other projects, and to me I feel he has limited range. I don’t think he was a disaster though, the movie is still a go-see.

Have to give a mention to the films soundtrack, which includes some nicely used songs such as “Music” by Eric Sermon Feat. Marvin Gaye, “Moment of Truth” by Gang Starr and “107 Degrees” by Citizen Cope…very nice…

Leave a Reply

