Got To Say: Lupe Fiasco – Lasers

Berjeez this is a bad album.

I get no joy from saying that because 29 year old Chicago native Fiasco is one of my favourites. His Jay Z assisted debut album “Food and Liquor” released in 2006 was an album I listened to all the time – I remember inviting “Sunshine,” “I Gotcha,” “Daydreamin'” and “Kick, Push” onto my iPod like a little kid and his follow up 2007’s “The Cool” impressed me too – I still listen to “Dumb It Down” and I defy anyone to listen to “Hip Hop Saved My Life” and not become some sort of fan.

But this 3rd one – released earlier this year feels like a sell out. In my defense the man himself said –

“I hate this album. A lot of the songs that are on the album, I’m kinda neutral to. Not that I don’t like them, or that I hate them, it’s just I know the process that went behind it. I know the sneaky business deal that went down behind this song, or the artist or singer or songwriter who wrote this hook and didn’t want to give me this song in the first place. What I had to go through was not fun, the ugliness I saw in people.”

A duet with Trey Songz? Ick. I expect this man to blow my mind with a release and this set did not. I’m sure the album did well and I will always be a fan on some level…I guess. But I want my classics goddamnit!

 

 

Leave a Reply

