Of Interest: I Interview RD

New UK girl group RD are making waves with their single ‘Got Me Burnin” out on September 25th. Written by ‘Lights On’ Grime princess Katy B and produced by Geenius, the catchy club ready track is sure to propell Kronz, Troy and Martika into the charts – and make no mistake these ladies want ‘Takeover.’ We managed to get the girls together long enough to chat about everything from N-Dubz, their boyfriends and competition from other girl bands…

So, how did you guys form?

Martika: Basically, we were all found on MySpace individually by our manager. Kronz was found first, then Troy and then me. So that’s basically how RD formed and we then got put in boot camp for 6 months straight and we were in each other’s pockets…so we all kinda gelled.

What was boot camp like?

Kronz: Intense

Martika: Intense

Troy: Mad Intense! (laughs)

Is all of this music stuff what you thought it would be, so far?

Kronz: For me, I feel like people don’t really realise how much hard work goes into all this. People just see a final product on MTV or some other channel and don’t really realise how much hard work and dedication goes into it. I think it’s something that people need to be aware of, the work and the graft that goes behind all this. But don’t get me wrong, it’s fun at the same time… like when I see the final product, I feel proud like that’s what I’ve worked for…

So tell us about the single ‘Got Me Burnin’’…

Troy: ‘Got Me Burnin’’ was actually written by Katy B and co-written by Kronz because she writes her bars and the track was produced by Geenius. It’s such a big tune, when we recorded it, it was such a fun process. The video is not what you would expect – everyone thought that we would shoot it in a club. That’s the kind of song it is – but we wanted contrast and so in the video we are hanging out on the street with our friends, chillin’, acting cool and showing our personalities.

Geenius and Katy B, what was it like working with them?

Martika: It was good, Katy B is heavy…she set the trend for females to do what she is doing and I think it’s a good thing…she is talented.

Kronz: It was a vibe, it was good

Are they any girl bands that you guys seek to emulate, there have been a lot of great girl groups before you – are there any you keep in your head?

Kronz: Destiny’s Child

Martika: Yeah Destiny’s Child, TLC, SWV…All Saints…

At the moment there’s lots of competition in the market with Duchess and Parade for example – are you guys competitive at all?

Kronz: Not at all

Martika: Na, man

Troy: We get on so well with Duchess and Parade they are so cool. We’ve met them and we know them and it’s always good vibes. I’m glad to see that girls are actually taking the spot – guys have been dominating the music scene for a while now so I think it is about time that girls come through and show what they’ve got.

Kronz: I think our sound is different, so it’s not like we are doing the same music as them and our image is completely different and there are less of us. I think that we are just not in the same box as them. So yeah, it’s not really a competition…

Speaking on female empowerment, you are now females in the industry so what are your opinions on female sexuality verses female empowerment and where do you stand with that – what are you gonna do about that now you’re in the game?

Kronz: I try not to sell sex – to be honest, I’m trying to do me. As you can see I’ve got my T-shirt and my skinnies on and that’s me, I feel comfortable like that and I think that the general public can relate to that, they can relate to someone just going out down the shops just with a jacket on just chillin’ out and just being casual. That’s the message that I want to send out to people – yeah you can dress up, you can go out and have a dance but it’s cool to be yourself as well and it’s cool to be casual.

Troy: There are times when we feel like we wanna be sexy but we don’t have to be provocative with it, we don’t have to wear a tight dress and heels and have our boobs out. We can be how we are and still be feminine with it…that’s what I think RD stands for.

What’s the best advice you have been given so far in this industry? Have you been given any?

Martika: When we were on tour with N-Dubz they were like just make sure you lot just always keep it real and always work hard, if you don’t work hard then you are not going to make it. That inspired me…

So now that the video is up on YouTube etc – do you guys ever scroll down to read the comments, in general how are you guys with criticism?

Troy: Of course! We want to see what people have to say whether it is good or bad. I believe if you ain’t getting one bad comment then you are not doing anything right. You have got to have that because that’s what’s gonna keep you driven, to improve. Regarding those comments, most of the time it’s not even that bad – it’s just people saying ‘oh I would have expected this or that or whatever’…it’s always good to see what everyone opinion is.

Kronz: There is always gonna be someone that just plain hates, always but the greatest artists get it – Beyoncé gets it, Eminem gets it, Busta Rhymes gets it – all of them get it. If you’re getting that you’re doing something right …it’s true

Troy: Yeah.

So preview the album for us, what is gonna sound like?

Martika: We are still experimenting with our sound so we haven’t got the album set in stone right now and we are still in the studio. We can do tunes like ‘Got Me Burnin’’ and then do tunes that are really Hip-Hop. It think that’s a good thing about us. The album is all gonna be consistent and you’re gonna know it’s RD because we put a stamp upon everything but it’s not just gonna be a Hip-Hop album or an R&B album…

Kronz: Yeah, it will be versatile…

Who would you like to work with, in the industry?

Martika: I think we would all like to work with Dappy and N-Dubz properly…

Kronz: Yeah

Troy: We’ve had a good few experiences with N-Dubz and were just in the studio with Fazer last week, and he just opened up our eyes to a lot and he really inspired us…

What did they say? What was the atmosphere like?

Troy: Generally you see a lot of Dappy and you see a lot of Tulisa but you never see much of Fazer but spending time with him you get to see what he actually does…

Martika: He really is very talented.

Kronz: I also respect the fact that they have had so much success but they are still as real as the day that they came out. They have not changed and they are still hard working and they are still themselves and that’s what I inspire to be like – I hope if things really pop off with RD that I stay grounded and I think we will…

Troy: We will, I mean look at Tuilsa she is on X Factor and watching her she is still Tulisa – it hasn’t changed her and it just goes to show that N-Dubz are the hundred per cent that they said they were always gonna be.

What tunes are you listening to at the moment? What’s on your iPods?

Troy: At the moment I am listening to Jay Z and Kanye West’s ‘Watch the Throne’, my favourite track on there at the moment is ‘New Day.’

I like ‘Lift Off’…

Martika: Yeah, ‘Lift Off’!

Kronz: I’m listening to Wretch 32 at the minute man…

The ‘Black and White’ album?

Kronz: Yeah and ‘The Weeknd’ mixtape is very good as well…

Martika: Wretch 32 is dope man…

Kronz: Big up Wretch man, he deserves that number one, he’s been hard working for years…

How are the three of you different?

Troy: From each other? Well in terms of sound – I’m R&B

Martika: I’m soul

Kronz: I’m grime, boy…

Troy: With personalities…I am the crazy girl of the group but I am also really motherly…I am very protective of my girls…

Martika: I am quite reserved, but I am cheeky, very cheeky actually – but reserved

Kronz: I’m like…once I have my mind made up, my mind is made up and I am passionate

Martika: …she means stubborn (laughs)

Kronz: I am!

Well, you’ve got to be stubborn…

Kronz: But I’m stubborn because I am passionate but I am a cool person to get on with and that…

So boyfriends, would you ever date anyone in the industry?

Troy: No, not me.

Is there a reason?

Troy: I am in love already.

Awwww…

Kronz: My boyfriend is a rapper…so, no…

Martika: I am trying to stay away from the industry boys, but I will never say never…

If you guys were a Mr Men or Little Miss which one would you be?

Martika: I would say I am Little Miss Bossy. If I am honest….

Kronz: I’d call myself Little Miss WORK (all laugh)

Troy: Little Miss Crazy

So it’s been ten years since Aaliyah died, what does she mean to you and what would you say to her?

Martika: I LOVE Aaliyah…she was the person – I’m being real – she was the person I got my style ideas from. Like the baggy trousers, the small tops and the big jackets…she was like my home girl – like I could be her friend if I really wanted to. Her music, her voice is so angelic I have all her albums…

Troy: She was gritty but sophisticated with it at the same time, and she had this elegance about her. God bless her soul – if she were to walk in this room now I would be in awe… (drops mouth open)

Martika: She would be massive right now…

Troy: I remember that day as well…It was actually Carnival in 2001 and I got the news and I couldn’t even get into the mood…I just wanted to go home. It’s like I knew her…so sad…

So looking to the future, what do you all want for yourselves, what do you want to have?

Martika: We want to have a couple of number ones, we want a number one album – we want a couple of albums actually…we want to be international, we want BRIT Awards, MOBO’s…

Troy: Everything…

Kronz: I want to own my own house…

Martika: Yeah, we want to own our own houses!

Troy: If we ever get to the BET in America then it’s off!!

http://www.taletela.com/news/9182/rd-talks-studio-time-with-n-dubz-handling-criticism-and-competition-with-other-girlbands

Leave a Reply

