Sad Face: UK MC Lowkey ‘Retires’

I remember going to see Hip Hop artist Lowkey live in London a few years ago to review a gig of his for an arts center, and what I felt oh-so-strongly after this show was that his perspective (whether I agreed with the details or not) on life, culture and world affairs needed to be heard by an even wider audience.

So earlier in the week I was kinda pissed off upon finding out that the 25-year old (real name Kareem Dennis) had chosen to retire in order to concentrate on his studies.

Ugh.

I am all for education, however I got the impression from this one gig that the music chose him – not the other way around. I got the sense from this lone show that the Londoner deeply understood his unique role within UK Hip Hop and world affairs.

And so I give this retirement 4 years tops.

Via Facebook the rapper who successfully released his second solo album ‘Soundtrack to the Struggle’ independently last year told around 180,000 followers, “Maybe at some point I will get back into it again but at this stage I feel I should direct my energy in different, more helpful directions.”

He continued, “The ego is a destructive thing and I feel this business and these social networks in particular have a tendency to feed it in an unhealthy way.”

The ego must be faced repeatedly in order to be transcended and the music industry is like, THE best place to do that and so I will await Mr Dennis’ return – I would recommend his back catalog to y’all, it will certainly get you thinking if anything…in the meantime have a look at ‘Obama Nation.’

One thought on “Sad Face: UK MC Lowkey ‘Retires’

  1. I was just looking for his facebook page and wondered where his ‘wall’ had disappeared to – it used to be so active! Oh well look forward to his return – he was and is an inspiration to young and old.

Leave a Reply

